The original water works system of San Nicolas (IN) Water District was formerly part of Laoag City Water Works. The system facilities in San Nicolas during that time were mainly pipelines extending to the central business district. The source, which was in Laoag City then, supplied water to the service area by gravity.

In 1964, the municipality separated its system from Laoag City. The municipal government took over the management of the system. Among its major undertakings was the construction of an elevated water tank at the plaza and drilling of a well. Water was then pumped through the reservoir and released to the concessionaires at different time schedules. The municipal government also drilled six more wells which were later abandoned.

On May 19, 1982, San Nicolas (IN) Water District was created through a resolution passed by Sangguniang Bayan of San Nicolas. Following its formation, SNWD acquired ownership and management of the entire system in accordance with PD 198 or the Provincial Water Utilities Act of 1973.

Upon completion of all the requirements, the Local Water Utilities Administration granted the District Certificate of Conformance # 207 in August 6, 1982.

The then Mayor, Benjamin L. Madamba turned over the town’s water system to the newly created Water District with three (3)Pumping Stations. In order to permit the District to operate, the Municipality of San Nicolas provided a monthly subsidy of Two Thousand Five Hundred Pesos (P 2,500.00) for a period of one (1) year.

When the Water District started its operation, there were initially five (5) personnel including the General Manager, Mr. Herminigildo P. Pasalo, now based abroad. The management and staff of the District occupied a small office under the old reservoir commonly called the “buabo buabo”, a historical landmark of San Nicolas, located at the center of the municipality. Due to the strong earthquake in 1986, the place was declared dangerous for occupancy so the District was moved to the municipal hall.

The District, when it was turned over has an initial book value of only Eighty Five Thousand Nine Hundred Ninety Six Pesos and Seventy Four Centavos (P 85, 996. 74).

It started with only 110 concessionaires and the barangays being served were Barangays 1, 2, 3, 4,5,8,9,11,12,13 and 15.

In December 31, 1988, Brgy 1 Pumping Station begins its initial operation. Due to the increasing demands of the concessionaires, another pumping station was built in the year 2000 at Brgy 24. Marking more than 3000 concessionaires in 2010 and as a proof of the management’s commitment to improving services, the Board of Directors and the management undertook a major project which was the construction of another deep well at Brgy 6 and was inaugurated in July 19, 2010.

To date, 3 Pumping Stations are currently serving 15 Poblacion barangays and 4 rural barangays. As of December 2013, the District is serving 4, 112 household or a total population of 21, 280. It now operates under the management of General Manager Marline B. Bonilla with 20 permanent employees and 1 casual employee.

By the end of the year, the District is targeting the provision of service connections for Brgy. Sta. Cecilia.